Cloudy

There’s a story in the Old Testament about the prophet Elijah. Elijah prayed and God stopped the rain for three and a half years. When it was time for the drought to end, Elijah looked out at the sky, and it was empty—not a cloud in sight. But he had faith and he prayed. And slowly a cloud no bigger than the size of a hand floated out of the sea. Soon it consumed the entire sky and, for the first time in three and a half years, the rain began to pour.

KazGU, the university where I’m studying Russian, is a clear, blue sky. Between 15- and 20,000 students study here, and in the last seven months I have met exactly two Christians. Two. One is a Catholic transfer student from Spain, and the other is an evangelical from China, who, like me, is only taking language classes and isn’t enrolled in a major.

I have met ZERO locals on campus who follow Jesus.

It’s an empty sky.

But when we came here, we had faith that that’s not the way it needs to continue to be. Out of the sea, began to rise a little cloud, no bigger than a hand—and her name is Rimma. Her newfound faith is an inspiration to our whole team as she has already begun to step into leadership roles and talk of wanting to reach her fellow students with the Gospel.

I see this little Rimma cloud, and I think of the clear sky that was here not long ago, and it gives me faith that that cloud can become an enormous storm. I see a little Alisher cloud beginning to form; a little Madina cloud; a Tanya cloud; a Masha cloud; and on and on. A storm is brewing, and it’s filled with Living Water.

This coming weekend, we’re inviting believers and those who are close to making a decision to attend a retreat. Please pray fervently that nothing will prevent these clouds, who are still forming, from attending. In a culture where it is frowned upon to become Christians, especially for ethnic Central Asians, a retreat like this is a safe haven for people to make decisions apart from the judging eyes of others who don’t yet fully understand. Please pray that many decisions are made—and that the rain begins to pour.

7 comments

  1. :-)

    Praying! Thank you for reminding about these amazing beautiful clouds!

  2. Scott,

    We don’t know each other but I’ve been reading your blog for the last several weeks and I would like to enlist your services.

    I live in the US and my father is the prior president of the Boy Scouts council in our region and his birthday is coming up. This year is also the 100th anniversary of the Boy Scouts in the US.

    I know this is a stretch, and I have been trying for several years unsuccessfully, but could you possibly try to find some Central Asian Boy Scout memorabilia?

    If you email me we can discuss the details, but I will certainly reimburse you for anything you buy, any shipping expenses, and I would gladly pay you for your time.

    Sorry for such a random request, but let me know if you feel up to it! It should prove adventurous.

    -Roger

    1. Roger, I’ll look into it. I asked one of my friends, and she doesn’t know anything about Central Asian Boy Scouts. I’ll see what I can find though. Where are you from?

      By the way, I’m an Eagle Scout. And thanks for reading my blog. :]

      1. Scott,

        I live in South Florida and I am also an Eagle Scout. Anything you might be able to find would be great, particularly if it’s clearly marked as Central Asian Scout memorabilia. It may take locating a troop and asking them where to buy patches or handbooks, etc.

        Drop me an email and thank you for looking into this!

        -R

  3. Christy · · Reply

    Thank you for going there. Ron & I will pray. What an amazing opportunity. I am so blessed every time I read one of your blogs. We love you Scott!

  4. I too will be praying for your retreat to be successful and that all your potential clouds get filled so that they can explode with the passion of Rimma. I am so proud of you. Love, Mom

  5. Anxious to hear!

Leave a Reply

