One More Friend::ишо один друг

Wow, it’s hard to believe I’ve been in Central Asia for over three weeks. But I feel like I’ve come a long way from the starstruck, exhausted 23-year-old who stumbled off the plane almost a month ago. Since then I’ve learned over 200 Russian words or phrases (not so much on the grammar yet, haha). I’ve tried the buses by myself only to end up a half hour walk from where I actually wanted to be. I’ve discovered the smells of only being able to shower four days a week (and the horror of realizing I missed shower time and will have to wait two days until the next one). I’ve come to love Central Asian food, and also come to love KFC, one of the only restaurants here that reminds me of the States.  The adventures here are never ending. Yesterday was one such adventure.

The first One More Friend (OMF) in the history of this country was last night. We put a lot of work into making everything look gorgeous, and into the PowerPoint, videos, worship, and refreshments. Scott Martin told his story of growing up as a “weenie Christian,” and how God called him to 100% commitment to His will. It stirred up an excitement in me, and I know that many of the other students who came felt the Holy Spirit move, too. This week was a small gathering to explain some of the vision for the future of OMF, but next week we’ll be meeting in a larger auditorium and hope to see even more people joining in on the fun of OMF!

OMF1Some of the attendants at OMF’s first Gathering!

Oh, and we ended with the Cha Cha Slide! Haha, this is going to be a fantastic year.

4 comments

  1. Sounds great Mr. Scott. But what is a “cha cha slide?”

    1. Haha, it’s a ridiculous pop line dance. People love it here.

  2. yeah for making friends! it sounds easier there than here in Spain. but, God’s blessed me with some friends…but I would like more! Take care Scott!

    1. Yeah, it almost definitely is. You look to much like you could be Spanish. No one here mistakes me for a Central Asian, haha. How’s your Spanish? Russian is so much harder than Spanish, I feel like I could learn Spanish in a week! Haha.

Leave a Reply

